Hangover days

It’s crazy to think that it’s all over for another year. I feel like I am living in limbo right now. Going to work doesn’t have the same urgency as it once did, in fact I think what I am feeling right now is… yes, could it be? Is that relaxation I am feeling? A feeling of a job well done, is there anything better?

Last Sunday, festival day, was indescribable. The response we had from our community was amazing, the rush of the day was exhilarating and best of all the day felt unforgettable.  It made every hour spent organizing it (and there were a lot) completely worth it! And, as I write this, I am looking forward to another festival next year, just so I can experience it again!

So, what was your favourite part of the festival? I have to say, like Nathan Whitlock, I felt a big highlight was watching Yann Martel bounce his baby on his lap while his wife Alice Kuipers spoke on stage at the Great Books Marquee.  So sweet. Overall, the constant celebrity sightings of the day was amazing! Also loved how packed The Remarkable Reads Tent, sponsored by Random House of Canada and McClelland & Stewart, and Penguin: Celebrating 75 Years was. I couldn’t believe the amount of people pouring out of those tents. I’m glad to see how responsive The Word On The Street community is to our new stages this year, including Digital Drive.  I could gush  on and on and on about the day, which couldn’t have been as successful without the support of our community, our sponsors, our volunteers, our suppliers, etc.

So what was your favourite part of the festival? What do you want us to bring back year after year?

If you liked what you saw this year, help us bring it back again next year by donating to the The Word On The Street Toronto through CanadaHelps.org! Your support would be much appreciated!

Thanks for a great festival!

2 thoughts on “Hangover days

  1. This year was my first WOTS and I have to say I was blown away. I’m an aspiring writer and for me, the best part of the festival was how accessible everyone was. By that, I mean how open to my newbie questions and slight case of being awestruck. Thank you to all who made it possible.

Leave a Reply

