What The Word On The Street is Reading

This Friday, our programming Assistant Cailin read Menu Confidential by Megan Ogilvie, published by HarperCollins Canada in June 2012. Megan will be presenting her book on our new non-fiction stage, the Nothing But The Truth Tent, at  4pm.

About the Book:

Is movie popcorn really that bad for me? Does a platter of nachos actually have as much fat as 40 strips of bacon?

Packed with information you won’t find anywhere else, Menu Confidential tells the nutritional truths about Canada’s most popular foods, from delicious sit-down dinners to quick meals from the grocery store to tasty treats from the drive-thru.

Q & A with Cailin:

1)      What interested you about this book?

 Menu Confidential promises to guide readers through the dietary minefield that eating out can often be. I don’t like to think of myself as someone who eats out too much, but if I’m being totally honest, I could probably stand to be more aware of the choices I make when I do dine out.

2)      Was it helpful?

It was quite helpful in making me aware of better choices I could be making. I was impressed with how specific, relevant, and up-to-date the information is. Ogilvie’s book highlights common menu choices in restaurants and grocery stores that I am actually likely to go to. Establishments like Tim Hortons, Starbucks, Loblaws, Cora’s, Wimpy’s Diner, and even Ikea and Shopper’s Drugmart are featured in the book.

I also enjoyed the plentiful photographs. They are very useful for comparing and contextualize portion sizes.

3)      What was the scariest fact you learned?

I have to admit that I’m a sucker for sodium. Ogilvie encourages us to switch from regular V8 vegetable juice to the low-sodium version, and this advice makes me feel pretty grumpy.  So, we’ll see how that goes for me. On the other hand, an illustration showed me that the sodium found in condiments like ketchup, mustard, and relish is way more than I expected. I think that reducing condiments is an easy change I can make. Bring on the fresh tomato slices!

4)      What was the most interesting fact you learned?

 Did you know that there’s more sugar in Tim Hortons’ blueberry muffins than in almost all of their doughnuts? Whoa!

Leave a Reply

