Illustrator’s Words: Debbie Ridpath Ohi

Today’s guest post comes to us courtesy of Debbie Ridpath Ohi, the  illustrator behind the very charming book I’m Bored.

Photo credit: Jeff Ridpath

This year was my first time presenting at The Word On The Street Toronto. I was in the Children’s Activity Tent, where I gave a reading and did activities related to I’m Bored, a new picture book by comedian/author Michael Ian Black and illustrated by me, published by Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers. It was my very first time presenting in front of young people and I have to say that it was an amazing experience.

From my perspective: I’ve been spending about a year and a half in my home office in the our basement, working hard on sketches and drawings, talking with my editor and art director, doing more rounds of revisions, then handing in the final art. It was a thrill to see my very first children’s book on the shelves but even more of a thrill to chat with young readers, see their wonderful drawings.

Not only was my Word On The Street presenter experience a hugely fun event, but a great reminder that in the end, it’s all about our readers.

THANK YOU, THE WORD ON THE STREET!

Debbie Ridpath Ohi is the illustrator of I’m Bored, a picture book by Michael Ian Black. Her other published works include short nonfiction, fiction, poetry, and a nonfiction book for writers. She blogs about writing and illustrating for young people at Inkygirl.com and has a webcomic about writers called Will Write For Chocolate. She lives in Toronto.

Leave a Reply

