The Word On The Street receives the 2013 Cornerstone Award

At the recent 5th annual Ontario Writers’ Conference, before some of Canada’s most prolific authors and upcoming writers, the 2013 Cornerstone Award winner was announced.  The Word On The Street joined the prestigious list of previous winners—Matt Galloway, The Griffin Trust for Excellence in Poetry, and Jack Rabinovitch. Ceta Ramkhalawansingh, national chair of The Word On The Street; and Judy Dunn, past president of The Word On the Street Toronto, accepted the award.

ImageEach year, conference organizers select a Canadian person or organization from outside the writing field who demonstrates exemplary support of Canadian writers and the writing arena in general. ‟As an organization that epitomizes our directive, [The] Word On The Street, its organizers and volunteers are being acknowledged for their dedication,” explains Barb Hunt, president of the Ontario Writers’ Conference. ‟[The] Word On The Street has received many awards over the years, and we’re glad to add our Cornerstone Award to that list.”

The Ontario Writers’ Conference is an annual event held the first weekend in May in the Greater Toronto Area. Writers of all abilities and genres enjoy educational, challenging and interactive workshops led by industry professionals and an impressive range of speakers on the art and skill of writing and related industry topics.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s