Festival News: The Word On The Street Toronto Announces New Board Members


The Word On The Street Toronto is pleased to welcome Don Oravec, former executive director of The Writers’ Trust of Canada; Anna Porter, award-winning Canadian author and co-founder of Key Porter Books; and Elyse Friedman, author and screenwriter, to its Board of Directors for 2013–2014.

“Such impressive talent from the literary community will bring a wide set of experiences and expertise to the organization. Already this year we have seen the dedication and engagement of our new board members and look forward to their continued contributions, with a vision to our 25th anniversary in 2014,” commented Festival Director Heather Kanabe. “The board extends a special thank-you to past members for their continued industry support and contributions to the strategic planning of this year’s Festival.”

Elyse, Anna, and Don join returning board members Christopher Johnson (President), Judy Dunn (Past President, National Liaison), Ross Harrhy, Book Category Manager – CMMI (Vice President), Ven Seshadri, Vice President, Project Development, CarbonFree Technology Inc. (Treasurer), Helena Aalto, ABC Life Literacy and Editors Association of Canada, Bhavna Chauhan, Editorial Assistant, Random House of Canada Ltd., Alan G. James, Partner, Gowlings Lafleur Henderson LLP, Holly Kent, Sales and Marketing Manager, Canadian Children’s Book Centre, Eleanor LeFave, Owner, Mabel’s Fables (exofficio), and Jennifer Murray, President, Porch Light Consulting.

Click here for biographies of the 2013–2014 Directors.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s